Support Mental Health Advocacy

Donate Now

MAMH's Annual Friend & Leader Awards Dinner salutes individuals whose work contributes to progress in awareness, health promotion, prevention and effective treatment for children and adults affected by mental health challenges throughout Massachusetts.

Congratulations to our honorees, and thank you to our sponsors and supporters who helped make our 2021 Friend & Leader Awards Dinner on Oct. 13 a huge success! If you weren't able to join us, click here to watch remarks from Gov. Charlie Baker, TV journalist JC Monahan, and more!

picture of Friend and Leader Award

2021 Friend & Leader Honorees

Event Co-Chairs

  • Andrew Dreyfus, President & CEO, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts
  • Donato Tramuto, Chair and Founder of the Tramuto Foundation

Friend & Leader Award

  • Johnson & Johnson
  • Moderna
  • Pfizer

Kitty and Michael Dukakis Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Dr. Mary Jane England, Clinical Professor of Health Law, Policy & Management, Boston University School of Public Health

Partners in Progress Award

  • Governor Charlie Baker
  • Health and Human Services Secretary Marylou Sudders
  • Senate President Karen Spilka
  • House Speaker Ronald Mariano

Spirit of Compassion Award

  • Sen. Julian Cyr
  • Rep. Marjorie Decker

Special Recognition Award

  • WCVB Channel 5, accepted by President and General Manager Kyle Grimes

Past Honorees

Friend & Leader Award

  • Robert F. Rivers, 2020
  • Hon. Karen E. Spilka, 2019
  • Hon. Robert A. DeLeo, 2018
  • Hon. Joe Kennedy, 2017
  • Bernard J. Carey, 2016
  • Andrew Dreyfus, 2015
  • Timothy R. Murphy
  • Nick Littlefield
  • Peter J. Scanlon, PhD
  • Jerrold Rosenbaum, MD
  • John E. Drew

Spirit of Compassion Award

  • Hon. Cindy Friedman, 2020
  • Matt Fishman, 2019
  • Audrey Shelto, 2018
  • Joy B. Rosen, 2017
  • Joan Mikula, 2016
  • Jean & James Hunt, 2015
  • Hon. Martin Walsh, 2014
  • Deborah Enos, 2013
  • Steven A. Tolman, 2012
  • Victoria Reggie Kennedy, 2011
  • Hon. Therese Murray, 2010

Partners in Progress Award

  • Vic DiGravio, 2019
  • Mathieu Bermingham, MD, 2018
  • Hon. Frederick Berry, 2017
  • Hon. Brian Dempsey, 2016
  • Timothy O'Leary, 2016

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • James T. Brett, 2018
  • Phil Johnston, 2017

Special Recognition Award

  • Hon. Seth Moulton, 2020
  • Lisa Fortuna, MD, 2019
MAMH President and CEO, Danna Mauch, shaking hands with guest
Guest smiling

2020 Friend & Leader Awards Dinner

Special Guests: Governor Charlie Baker & First Lady Lauren Baker


  • Bob Rivers, Chair and CEO, Eastern Bank (Friend & Leader Award)
  • Cindy Friedman, State Senator, 4th Middlesex District (Spirit of Compassion Award)
  • Seth Moulton, Congressman, 6th Congressional District (Special Recognition Award)
  • Brigadier General (ret.) Jack Hammond, Executive Director, Home Base (Special Guest Speaker)

Past Friend & Leader Programming